Beer Money
  • Author : Frances Stroh
  • Release Date : 03 May 2016
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Genre : Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 13 : 9780062393180
  • Total Download : 712
  • File Size : 52,5 Mb
Ratings: 3.5
From 25 Voters
DOWNLOAD

Beer Money PDF Summary

In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins. Frances Stroh’s earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million. But behind the beautiful façade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit’s economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad and likewise the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store. Featuring beautiful evocative photos throughout, Stroh’s memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal—at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.

Beer Money

Beer Money

Author : Frances Stroh
Publisher : HarperCollins
Total Download : 716
File Size : 53,9 Mb
DOWNLOAD
Beer Money

Beer Money

Author : S.C. Sherman
Publisher : Post Hill Press
Total Download : 731
File Size : 48,7 Mb
DOWNLOAD
Parliamentary Papers

Parliamentary Papers

Author : Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons
Publisher : Unknown
Total Download : 955
File Size : 53,6 Mb
DOWNLOAD
Beer Money

Beer Money

Author : Darin Hayes,Tara King
Publisher : Createspace Independent Pub
Total Download : 247
File Size : 49,6 Mb
DOWNLOAD